Astrid Legal vs Read AI
Competitor details last checked
Read AI is a general meeting intelligence platform for sales, HR, education and enterprise teams. Astrid is built for law firms and for the step after the transcript: an attorney-approved note filed to the matter, and a recap drafted for the client. Read may suit a firm that wants broad meeting summaries and search across the whole organization at a low price. Astrid suits a firm that needs client calls turned into records it can stand behind.
At a glance
| Feature | Astrid | Read AI |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Law firms in any practice area, including plaintiff, family law, criminal defense, civil litigation, estate planning, real estate, corporate and business law, and IP. | Teams in general. Its site names education, tech, sales and HR. No law firm page found. |
| Phone calls | Zoom Phone, plus a dial-in bridge for any carrier. | Phone dial-in or phone call capture is not stated on its meetings, desktop or mobile pages. |
| Video meetings | A notetaker bot joins Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet. | A visible bot joins Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet. A bot-free desktop app for Windows and Mac is also offered. |
| In person and files | Record in person from your phone using the Astrid web app in the phone's browser, with no app to install, or from a computer browser. You can also upload a file. | Mobile app for in-person recording, a Chrome extension and file upload. |
| Mobile apps | There is no iOS or Android app yet, and both are planned for release before December 2026. Until then Astrid works in the phone's browser, with recording and the call screens built for phones. Some other screens are not yet laid out for small screens. | iOS and Android apps, with one-tap in-person recording. |
| Desktop app | A Windows desktop app records without a bot in the meeting. A Mac app is coming. | A bot-free desktop app for Windows and macOS. |
| Case management filing | Clio Manage, 8am MyCase, 8am CasePeer, Smokeball and Lawcus. | Not listed. No practice management system appears on its integrations page. It lists Zapier, an API and webhooks. |
| What is synced to the case management system | Matters are searched live by client name or phone, and the client's contact details are read in. After an attorney approves the note, the note and each follow-up task are filed to the matter, as a Clio phone log, a Smokeball memo, a CasePeer case note, a MyCase note or a Lawcus interaction. A recap the firm sends is filed to the matter too. Task filing to MyCase is not live yet, and filing time entries to Clio and Smokeball is rolling out to select firms. | None. No practice management system is listed. It lists Zapier, an API and webhooks. |
| Attorney approval before a note is final | Drafted in the firm's own note format. An attorney approves it before it becomes the record, and each approval is stored with who approved and when. | Not described on its public pages. |
| Client recap | A written recap is drafted for the client and sent by the firm. | Not stated. Reports are delivered by email when a meeting ends. |
| AI chat on a matter's calls | Ask Astrid answers questions about one matter or client using only that file's transcripts, approved notes and recaps, and cites the call and timestamp behind each answer. Calls marked privileged are left out for anyone without access. It is available on laptop and tablet screens, not on a phone. | Its site describes Ask Read, which answers questions and searches across meetings. Limiting it to one client's or matter's calls is not stated. |
| Recording consent | The firm sets a recording consent mode, and each call keeps a consent record. Bot-joined meetings play an audible disclosure. | The bot introduces itself and says who added it. Any participant can opt out, which cancels the recording. No state-by-state consent feature is described. |
| Security and training | Your firm's content is not used to train models. No SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certification and no independent penetration test yet. The security page says what is and is not in place. | SOC 2 Type II. HIPAA compliance is listed on its Enterprise+ plan. Its privacy page describes model training as opt-in, and its terms also reserve a right to use content to improve its models, so read both. |
| Price | $40 per person per month billed monthly, or $400 per person per year billed annually, which is 2 months free. 14-day free trial. No per-call or per-minute charges. | Free plan with 5 meetings a month. Pro $15 per month billed annually ($19.75 monthly). Enterprise $22.50 annually ($29.75 monthly), 5 or more licenses. Enterprise+ $29.75 annually ($39.75 monthly). |
What Read AI is
Read AI says it produces meeting summaries, transcripts, highlights and action items, with search across meetings and a chat-style assistant. Its site names education, tech, sales and HR as example sectors. We did not find a law firm page on its public pages.
A visible bot joins Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet meetings. It also offers a bot-free desktop app for Windows and Mac, a mobile app for one-tap in-person recording, a Chrome extension and file upload. Its integrations include HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Notion, Slack, Zapier, an API and webhooks.
When Read AI is the better fit
- You want meeting summaries and search across the whole organization, and most meetings are not client matters.
- Price matters most. Read has a free plan and lower list prices than Astrid.
- You want in-person recording from a phone app, or a bot-free desktop app, for non-client meetings.
When Astrid is the better fit
- Calls and meetings need to end up as an approved note in your case management system.
- You take client calls by phone and need them captured, not only video meetings.
- You want an attorney to approve a note before it becomes the record, and a recap drafted for the client.
- You want recording consent handled as a firm setting with a record for each call.
Questions to ask any vendor
- Can I see it capture a real phone call from my own phone system, not a recorded demo?
- What happens to a note before it is filed to the matter or sent to anyone? Who has to approve it?
- Which case management systems are live today, and what exactly gets filed to each?
- How are recording notice and consent handled for a state that requires every party to agree?
- Is my firm's content used to train any model, under what terms, and can that be switched off?
- After a meeting, who receives the report by default, including people outside the firm, and can that be switched off for everyone?
Frequently asked questions
Does Read AI work for law firms?
Read AI is a general tool and does not present a legal product. A firm can use it for internal meetings. For client calls, check who receives the report after the meeting, how consent is handled, how long content is kept, what its terms say about model training, and whether anything files to your case management system. This is not legal advice.
Does Read AI integrate with Clio, MyCase or Smokeball?
Its integrations page does not list a practice management system. It does list Zapier, an API and webhooks, so a custom connection may be possible, but Read does not describe one for legal systems.
Is Read AI HIPAA compliant?
Its pricing page lists HIPAA compliance under the Enterprise+ plan, while its homepage says HIPAA compliant without naming a plan. Ask Read which plans include a business associate agreement. Astrid does not claim HIPAA certification.
Where this comes from
- Read AI pricing
- Read AI integrations
- Read AI meetings
- Read AI desktop app
- Read AI mobile app
- Read AI privacy
- Read AI privacy policy
- Read AI terms of service
- Why is Read AI in my meeting
This page compares what each company says on its own public website on the date shown above. It is not a hands-on test of the other product, and products change. Where a page says a feature is not stated, that means we did not find it on the vendor's site, not that it does not exist. Confirm current capabilities and pricing with each vendor before you decide.